Matcha (Matcha Red Bean Filling) Swiss Roll

Putting both matcha (also known as green tea) and red bean in cakes or in any desserts will never go wrong because they are a perfect match.

I decided to bake a matcha swiss roll because it’s difficult to buy one in Houston, Texas even though Houston is a diversified city that welcome different nationalities. However, with several big Asian supermarkets in this city, it was easy to buy ingredients like matcha and sweet red bean paste.

I followed the recipe by Cooking With Dog despite many other good recipes around because in my opinion, Japanese make the best matcha swiss roll. I have tried a matcha swiss roll when I was in Japan, and I was blown away by it. Since then, I was unable to find any matcha swiss roll that was able to come close to the swiss roll’s texture and flavor which I ate in Japan.

This is the recipe for my successful matcha swiss roll. The ingredients required are easily available in many supermarkets. If you do not like red beans, you can opt not to include in the cake. Because I prefer my cake’s filling to be tasteful and colorful, I added green tea powder and red bean paste to the whipping cream so that my filling will not be just plain whipped cream. The cake turned out to be delicious, and not too sweet. But, tasting success after making the swiss roll is SWEET!

Ingredients used:

4 Egg Whites
40g Sugar (1.4 oz)
4 Egg Yolks
40g Sugar (1.4 oz)
40g Cake Flour (1.4 oz)
1 tbsp Matcha – Green Tea Powder
120ml Whipping Cream with 35% fat (4 fl oz)
1 tbsp Sugar for whipped cream
120g Anko – Sweet Bean Paste (4.2 oz)
80g Sweetened Azuki Beans (2.8 oz)
Powdered Sugar

Baking Sheet: 26x36cm/10¼x14¼ in
Thin Kraft or Bakery Paper

matchaswissroll

One thought on “Matcha (Matcha Red Bean Filling) Swiss Roll

Leave a Reply

