The Canto Land

There is no other city like Hong Kong. Hong Kong is notable for their night markets, street food, beautiful night sceneries, entertaining kung-fu dramas and movies, and of course, Bruce Lee. Many Asians from neighboring countries like Singapore, Malaysia, and Taiwan, love to go to Hong Kong for a short weekend get-away. They mainly go to this beautiful city to eat and shop. What I love about Hong Kong is the authentic Chinese food (especially Cantonese dim sum) at a relatively cheap price, and needless to say, huge selection of delicious Chinese desserts which you cannot get anywhere else. I had been to Hong Kong several times to satisfy my cravings for desserts and Cantonese dim sum. Be sure to visit Hong Kong if you have the chance. I can guarantee that you will not regret it!

I have compiled some of my eating adventures when I was in Hong Kong. As I am writing this post, I am drooling while looking at the pictures and thinking when I would get the chance to go Hong Kong again (as I am much further away from Hong Kong now).

Desserts, desserts, desserts. Love and no-hate relationship between dessert and me. I love Chinese desserts because they are one-of-a-kind, and a lot of hard work is required to make a good and authentic Chinese dessert. For example, to make a real good black sesame seed paste dessert requires the dessert chef to grind the black sesame seeds to a fine texture, and continuous stirring of the paste to prevent burning. It may sound easy but the end-product’s texture got to be fine and smooth but not watery. So when I said authentic, I meant good texture. My parents told me several times that they can hardly find any good Chinese desserts in Singapore now as in the older days, my parents tasted the fine ones. Most desserts sold now are watery instead of paste-like. So basically, you are drinking the dessert instead of eating it. Luckily, to-date, many Hong Kong dessert shops kept the authenticity of the Chinese desserts.

Chinese rice dumpling with crushed peanuts
Chinese rice dumpling with crushed peanuts

 

Red bean soup is one of my favorites. The process of soaking then soften the beans, to non-stop stirring and boiling of the dessert. One just got to appreciate it.
Red bean soup is one of my favorites. The process of soaking then soften the beans, to non-stop stirring and boiling of the dessert. One just got to know how to appreciate it.

 

Mango ice with mango ice cream and rice dumplings. Too good to resist.
Mango ice with mango ice cream and rice dumplings. Too good to resist.

 

These egg white puddings are so delicious. The texture is soft and smooth, and just melts in your mouth.
These egg white puddings are so delicious. The texture is soft and smooth, and just melts in your mouth.

 

This is another one of my favorites - beancurd with lotus seed. It's difficult to make a good beancurd because to get the right texture is very important.
This is another one of my favorites – beancurd with lotus seed. It’s difficult to make a good beancurd because to get the right texture is very important.

 

Egg pudding
Egg pudding

 

Chocolate pudding
Chocolate pudding

 

Yuan Yang - beancurd and black sesame
Yuan Yang – beancurd and black sesame

 

Ate cheap beancurds at the Chinese temple
Ate cheap beancurds at the Chinese temple

 

Caramelized dessert
Caramelized pudding

 

When you go to Hong Kong, you cannot go home without eating dim sum. Dim sum is usually eaten for breakfast and for high tea. But now, some restaurants offer dim sum for dinner. Dim sum is either steamed or fried, and they are commonly served in brown baskets for steamed dishes. In traditional dim sum restaurants, one can see waiters or waitresses pushing trollies going table to table asking diners if they would love to have the dishes in the pushcarts. This tradition still exists in some Hong Kong restaurants but rare. I frequent to Tim Ho Wan when I want to eat dim sum. Tim Ho Wan is well-known worldwide for offering affordable dim sum though the restaurant has one-Michelin star. Long queues outside the restaurant is a normal scene so wake up early to shorten the waiting time!

Zhu chang fen which have shrimps and pork stuffings
Zhu chang fen which have shrimps and pork stuffings

 

Rice dumpling wrapped in lotus seed. Some of the ingredients that can be found in the rice dumpling are: lotus seeds, pork, and chestnut.
Rice dumpling wrapped in lotus seed. Some of the ingredients that can be found in the rice dumpling are: lotus seeds, pork, and chestnut.

 

Porridge or congee is a must try in Hong Kong. My favorite congee is the century egg congee.
Porridge or congee is a must try in Hong Kong. My favorite congee is the century egg congee.

 

Har gow aka shrimp dumpling, shui mai, and crispy char siew bau aka pork bun.
Har gow aka shrimp dumpling, shui mai, and crispy char siew bau aka pork bun.

 

Ma lai gou (malay cake) and char siew bun
Ma lai gou (malay cake) and char siew bun

 

Har gow, my favorite dim sum dish
Har gow, my favorite dim sum dish

 

Fried pork dumplings
Fried pork dumplings

 

Egg tarts and polo bun
Egg tarts and polo bun

 

Pan fried carrot cakes
Pan fried carrot cakes

sweetandsourpork roastmeat asparagus bamboofood

dimsum2 dimsum1 dimsum charsiewpolobun

 

Other than dim sum and desserts, I also tried delicacies like Hong Kong egglets, wonton mee (pork dumplings with noodles), peanut butter toast, macaroni soup, matcha red bean muffin, and Portuguese egg  tart. All these goodies cannot beat another favorite food of mine which can only be found in Hong Kong, and that is curry fish balls. Do not underestimate these curry fish balls. They are not your typical fish balls found in the frozen section of your neighborhood supermarkets. The fish balls are chewy, bouncy, and tasty. One bite into the fish ball and you will know that it is not the kind which is frozen and refrozen. I just simply love them and always crave for more. The curry fish balls are sold by road side stalls and is value for money!

roadsidefishballs

wontonmee  roadstallsoftserve roadstalleggpastry roadstallsticks soymilkfriedfritters peanutbuttertoastyeeshunmilkco greentearedbeanmuffin  hengsiangeggroll  fishnoodlesoup australiandairycobreakfastmactoast chickenrice

kokeipastry gongcha

Portugese egg tart which you can get in Macau. Got to try!
Portugese egg tart which you can get in Macau. Got to try!

 

I would like to highlight a restaurant, Australia Dairy Company located at 47 Parkes St, Jordan, Hong Kong, which in my opinion, serves very good breakfast. The scrambled eggs and toast are delicious and do not forget to order a cup of yuan-yang (coffee and tea mix) as your morning drink (instead of plain coffee).

I would also like to recommend Jenny Bakery to everyone who has not tried their butter cookies. Please note that they only have 2 shops in Hong Kong, and there will always be a long queue of fans who cannot wait to get their hands on the yummy cookies. What is so special about the butter cookies is, they are buttery and soft. When I say soft, it means, the cookies melt in your mouth, and definitely suitable for all ages to enjoy!

jennybakery

 

How can I not eat macarons when I am in Hong Kong?! To end my Hong Kong trip on the best note, I bought myself some macarons from Paul Lafayette and Pierre Herme. Both make good macarons but I think Pierre Herme sells better macarons because I could taste the fillings’ flavors were not lost in the sweetness. Satisfied!

paullafayetmacarons pierrehermemacarons

 

Leave a Reply

