The Big Apple

My first trip to New York City was in July 2015. I was a trip filled with excitement. I could not wait to see the beautiful buildings that I seen in television programs, definitely did not want to miss the shopping at the best premium outlet – The Woodbury Commons Premium Outlet, and could not wait to try some NYC food. I had a wonderful trip. Instead of taking the subway, I walked from my hotel at Times Square, to north, south, east, and west of NYC. Every corner I hit never failed to amaze me. The Upper East Side, Hell’s Kitchen, Wall Street, Charging Bull, Statue of Liberty, Chinatown, The Met Museum, etc. Breath-taking.

5 months later, I visited NYC again. This time, I visited places that I have missed out on my first trip. The most unforgettable one was the visit to The American Museum of Natural History. Fell in love with the museum at first sight when I saw the dinosaurs’ skeletons in the lobby. In-awed. Because my second visit was during the Christmas season, I saw NYC decorated in charming and dazzling christmas lightings. Macy’s, Rockefeller Center, Top of the Rock, Empire State Building, and Chrysler Building were stunning. I’m so glad that I got to see the different outlooks of NYC in summer and winter seasons.

My body shouted out “Refuel Me!” with all the walkings in summer and winter seasons. I compiled some of the food I tried when I was in NYC on both times. I will continue the list if I get to visit NYC again!

 

Traditional mustard hot dog bun from push-cart
Traditional mustard hot dog bun from push-cart

 

Classic hawaiian New York style pizza
Classic hawaiian New York style pizza

 

Macarons from Macaron Cafe were not that bad. The macarons were small and the price per macaron was steep. I was shopping at the Woodbury Commons Premium Outlet and got attracted by the colorful display of macarons. Can’t say no to them when they were shouting for my attention!

nycpremiumoutletmacaroncafe newyorkmacarons

 

Had lunch break at Patisserie Family and Friends. Ordered beef lasagna and a cocktail to pair with my lasagna. The lasagna is fantastic! The tomato sauce is fresh and fragrant, definitely not from tomato sauce cans. The beef and pasta portions were well-balanced. The cheeses tasted fantastic. Superb!

lasagnapatzeria alcholicdrink

 

Crack pie from Momofuku Milk Bar. Interesting mixture of ingredients to make this unique crack pie.
Crack pie from Momofuku Milk Bar. Interesting mixture of ingredients to make this unique crack pie.

 

Chocolate chip sundae bought from a push cart along the street. The soft-serve was so good. Shoo-shoo warm weather.
Chocolate chip sundae bought from a push cart along the street. The soft-serve was so good. Shoo-shoo warm weather.

 

Who can miss out eating Shake Shack when in NYC?! Burgers were to die for! Absolutely in love with the burgers but not the fries. The chocolate milkshake was delicious and was one of the best milkshakes I had tasted so far.

ShakeShack shakeshackvegieburger

 

My first experience eating Sloppy Joe's. A combination of minced beef, and mac & cheese. Unique!
My first experience eating Sloppy Joe’s. A combination of minced beef, and mac & cheese. Unique!

 

Was wondering what to eat for breakfast one morning and so I asked Yelp for help. The Little Pie Company popped out with raving reviews. The unusual shapes of the apple pie and the red velvet cake caught my attention so I decided to get them. The price you paid for the cakes are definitely worth it! The apple pie isn’t the usual ones you can get in any restaurants. The apple pie crust was so crunchy. I kept wanting more. The apple filling was of the right amount and ohh… I finished all of it! However, I did not finish the red velvet cake. The red velvet cake was covered with cream cheese icing. I would get an heart-attack if I were to finish the cake, including the icing. I ate some of the icing and dug the out the sponge cake. The sponge cake texture was just right. Soft, fluffy, and not too sweet. One bite of sponge cake followed by one bite of the icing (sponge cake bite > icing bite) would be perfect. Not recommended to eat all the icing!

littlepiecompanyofbigapple applepeifromlittlepiecompany redvelvetcakefromlittlepiecompany

 

Carlo's Bake Shop was just round the corner of my hotel. Bought some cakes and pastries from the shop but I would say they were not worth the hype.
Carlo’s Bake Shop was just round the corner of my hotel. Bought some cakes and pastries from the shop but I would say they were not worth the hype.

 

Afternoon tea at La Maison Du Chocolat was awesome. Macarons with ice chocolate drink were perfect!
Afternoon tea at La Maison Du Chocolat was awesome. Macarons with ice chocolate drink were perfect!

 

Anyone who goes to NYC should not give Wafels & Dinges a miss. The waffles were of the right texture - not too soft and not too hard. There is always a long queue to get a bite of the waffles.
Anyone who goes to NYC should not give Wafels & Dinges a miss. The waffles were of the right texture – not too soft and not too hard. There is always a long queue to get a bite of the waffles.

 

Breakfast at AppleBee's was a disappointment. Not much effort was put in to prepare the food. This meal would be my last visit to AppleBee's.
Breakfast at AppleBee’s was a disappointment. Not much effort was put in to prepare the food. This meal would be my last visit to AppleBee’s.
Leave a Reply

