Japanese Souffle Cheesecake

The baking feeling crept into me one night and I was up searching what to bake. Ideas started coming into my head. I was googling for interesting recipes and I chanced upon the Japanese shuffle cheesecake recipe. As the ingredients required were easily available in supermarkets and the amount of baking time was not long, I decided to devote my morning hours to making a not-so-sinful cheesecake.

I followed the recipe by Cooking With Dog from YouTube (Souffle Cheesecake (Japanese Cake Recipe)). The ingredients used were listed below. However, I did not add the apricot jam, icing sugar and lemon zest into my baking.

100g Cream Cheese (3.5 oz)
30g Sour Cream (1.1 oz)
20g Butter, unsalted (0.7 oz)
2 Egg Yolks
20g Cake Flour (0.7 oz)
100ml Milk (3.4 fl oz)
½ tsp Vanilla Extract
2 Egg Whites
40g Sugar (1.4 oz)
Apricot Jam diluted with rum
Icing Sugar, optional
Grated Lemon Zest, optional

The recipe was good for 2 mini cheesecakes (about 6 small slices each) and the cheesecakes turned out fantastic. Not only did the cheesecakes tasted good, they were fluffy and soft, and the cheesecakes melted in my mouth the instant my tongue touched the cakes. I definitely did not exaggerate if I were to tell you I could finish both the cheesecakes myself.

These cheesecakes are great for after dinner dessert because they are not as heavy as the typical cheesecakes.

soufflecheesecake_bsakedit

soufflecheesecake

 

Leave a Reply

